top of page
  • janeaskew28

Part Two: Where I am (everything)

pre-writing artifact


A place I felt heard at was when I was talking to my college counselor about what college I wanted to go to. When it came to my parents they kind of forced some college visits that they were more interested in that I wasn't. When I told my college counselor after she suggested some schools in my range and everything then I told her what I wanted to look at and the places and things I was interested in. She heard when and did not press on ideas that she had that I didn't like and that was nice. Even Though it seems like of course you will be heard in the college process it's not always like that in a way and she really helped and did research about what I wanted to know more about and advocated for me a lot. She listened to a lot of my ideas, for example when I told her I didn't want too small of a college or going up north or some weird school that wasn't my speed. She actually was a new college counselor so I am happy the old one switched out because I didn't like her as much because I had her for like one meeting.


First you want to be in Fort Worth, Texas and be on the location of TCU. You will want to park in the fifteen minute lot. If you search on your phone the university baptist church and drive there the fifteen minute parking lot is directly across the street. You will want to park and get out of your car. There is a huge lawn area between the dorms. You want to get out of your car and walk down that path to the colby hall dormitory but a little ramp to the doors. There you will swipe into your dorm and turn right where the steps are. Walk up the stairs into the second floor and when you reach the doorway you will take a turn to the left. Walk down the hall passing the elevator and halfway from the elevator to the bathroom you will want to keep an eye out on the right side for room number 231. Interview

Where are you originally from?

- I am originally from Nashville and I went to an all girls school called Harpeth Hall.

Why did you choose to go to Texas Christian University?

I choose to come here because it is very similar to where I am from and holds a lot of the values I do. The commonalities are the southern aspect, I am from a religious family so it's nice knowing that there is a strong religious pull at TCU, and when I walked on the campus I loved it. It was very pretty and made me feel right at home. I got a certain feeling.

What kind of smaller communities are you a part of at TCU?

Well I am a part of the colby community, the business school community, the Tri Delta community, and the community of my friend group if that counts.

What have you learned from these communities?

At home I was friends with the same girls and same people that I had known my whole life and it was easy to know what to expect and know that they were just like me. These communities like the Colby one taught me how to live with other girls who have different personalities than me. Also along with the tri delta community yes we are very similar but there are a lot of backgrounds within the communities and everyone has their unique stories. I always felt accepted by these communities as well because I think they are filled with mature people who are able to be friends with different backgrounds.


My reflection

- I also joined Texas Christian University because I liked the feeling I got while on campus. I think my favorite community I am in is the interior design community. Personally I don’t see myself and usually others don't see me as the stereotypical artsy person who likes to draw and paint and I usually don't attract them either. But that is my favorite part about being in the interior design community. There are so many types of people that you would never have thought to be artsy and creative. Some of the people I have gotten to become friends with I never thought I would be friends with them. Thats what I really enjoy about my community is that it's small enough that I can meet everyone and we all have something in common that brings us together.

Peer response artifact

- I would double check the grammar and write it out. One thing I think that you could do to bring this all together is give your opinion about the community also and give how it has impacted you since it is your project.

7 views

Recent Posts

See All

Article about topic for Finale Campaign

https://childmind.org/article/understanding-dyslexia/ When reading this article I was very educated even more about the topic of dyslexia. Since I am dyslexic I already have been educated a lot abou

Google Research Notes and Journal Notes: Part 3

It affects 1 in 5 people - 70 to 85 percent of children go undiagnosed from dyslexia Usually more creative and have higher level of intelligence - it usually has 50 percent of a child having it a c

bottom of page